Raise a glass to 2012

December 22, 2011 § 6 Comments

Raise a glass to 2012As has been my  annual tradition, I have generally and enthusiastically assessed the year-ending in terms of my successes, my failures, where I am now and where I’m heading.  But this year, somehow, I don’t have the “geduld” [that’s Yiddish for patience] to make the lists, to look at what I’ve done or not done, with the same excitement and fervor as I have in years past.

In my creative world, I have performed in new venues, shared the stage with many terrific artists and musicians alike, created new coaching classes, have co-taught with musicians and learned folks for whom I have much respect, coached singers and have been inspired by their enthusiasm and courage, met new audiences and made many new fans and friends.  Yet somehow, it just doesn’t feel like enough.

In my personal world, I have a husband who I adore and who loves me unconditionally (when I’m not doing something that completely annoys him) and who is my biggest fan.  His family. My family.  Our little farm in San Francisco, including the dogs, the chickens, the turtles and the fish.  All who bring me great joy.

Perhaps the “recession/depression” our country is in has also gotten to me.  I have become much more politically attuned – and mostly don’t like what I see or hear.  I did not grow up in a “dysfunctional family.”  We were really quite normal.  But I do believe our country is quite dysfunctional right now and it doesn’t make me feel good, nor do I know, really,  how I can help. Worse than that is that I don’t see at all how our government is going to come back together in my lifetime. I feel alienated by so much of the “noise.”   I don’t feel like I belong.

So I am left with the questions …  “What is it that I CAN do?”  “How can my music take me up and out?”  “What difference can I make through my music and my teaching to my family, my friends, my fans, and to me?”

I guess my job over the next year is to discover more of the questions whose answers will guide the next phase of my journey.

2012, I look forward to meeting you head on

P.S.  –  Happy Hanukkah, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, Happy Kwanzaa and I hope I didn’t miss anything!

§ 6 Responses to Raise a glass to 2012

  • Thanks, Linda. it has been a highly challenging year. And here we are still standing (so to speak). I wish you all good things in 2012.

    and much love,
    Wesla

  • Hey, Linda,
    Guess what, we all feel estranged these days, and a bit funky and as if we can’t effect any changes.
    But guess what, Linda. You have already affected me and so many other people for such a long time, giving tirelessly of yourself as a friend, as a wife, as a parent, as a grandparent, as a coach, and as a musician. So no year-end evaluation list is needed. If you ever forget this, just let me know. I have the geduld to set you straight.

    Marilyn Cooney

  • Nancy says:

    It is by rejoicing in all you have now that more good stuff arrives! Keep your attention on all that makes you happy, and when you get dragged down by what you see or the state of the world, know that by choosing to live in appreciation and love, you are contributing, significantly, to things getting better and better.

    I know it’s not always easy to do. But as you said, these years are skipping by. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!

    • Ellen says:

      Yes… gratitude and appreciation is the answer to lift one out of the mire. Music is such a gift to share… thank you for sharing your gift in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Raise a glass to 2012 at LindaKosut's Blog.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 278 other followers

